About this Project
Built in 1951, Cruess Hall, occupied by the Departments of Design and Cinema & Digital Media as well as the Design Museum, was formerly the location of the Department of Food Science until the Robert Mondavi Institute for Wine and Food Science opened.
Today this building is being renovated to provide multimedia classrooms, a wood shop, metal shop and a 90-seat screening and lecture hall. In addition, contractors will demolish a 5,000 square foot building and replace it with a new entry lobby and 200-seat screening and lecture hall designed to accommodate our campus’s cinema and digital media program.
Outside, the transformation continues and includes new landscaping, space for 300 bike racks and the renovation of the courtyard – an area planned for hosting community events and showcasing student- and faculty-created outdoor exhibits.